Book 5

I am not sure what I just read. How have I never read  The Little Prince by Antoine De Saint-Exupéry before? This book is just, its just great. I have had this book on my to be read list for some time now. I cant even remember how it got there but, when i saw it was a children’s book with only 83 pages and that I needed to read 5 books in the month of December to stay on track I thought why not. I also had this strange, and I am not quite sure where it came from, feeling that this book would make me feel all warm and festive. I wouldn’t say that it did that but this book took me on an adventure that spanned a lot more than 83 pages.

The Little Price tells the story of, funnily enough, a little prince and his journey from his little asteroid planet to earth. Although this book is technically a children’s book it is so much more than that. This book is filled with moral life lessons. It forces you to think about the world and all of the beautiful things in it. On every other page I found myself thinking about how stupid grown ups are for always rushing around and not using their imagination. The inner child in you will defiantly appreciate this book. I read this book on kindle and the illustrations that were in the kindle version added so much to the story. If you get the chance to read this book on paper defiantly do it. I am now on the hunt for a beautiful copy of this book. I know for a fact that I will read this book over and over again, it just has so much to give. I don’t really want to say much more about this book. With only 83 pages it could be easily spoiled. Instead I am going to add 5 of my favourite quotes that have made it into my little quotes notebook below. If you haven’t read this book already, go and read. I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Happy Reading!

 

“People have forgotten this truth,” the fox said. “But you mustn’t forget it. You become responsible forever for what you’ve tamed. You’re responsible for your rose.”

“Well, I must endure the presence of a few caterpillars if I wish to become acquainted with the butterflies.”

“I have lived a great deal among grown-ups. I have seen them intimately, close at hand. And that hasn’t much improved my opinion of them.”

“And now here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

“I showed the grown ups my masterpiece, and I asked them if my drawing scared them. They answered why be scared of a hat? My drawing was not a picture of a hat. It was a picture of a boa constrictor digesting an elephant.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

