Book Three

I loved The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well by Meik Eiking. What a wonderfully warm little book to read during Christmas. I picked up a copy of this book around a month ago during a trip to the book store. The front cover caught my eye and I thought it looked like a nice little coffee table book. We are looking to travel to Scandinavia in the new year and I thought this book might teach me a little about Danish culture. I sort of forgot about this book and thought I would just throw it into Decembers to be read list as a quick read during a busy month.

I came in from work one cold night, turned on the Christmas tree lights, lit a candle, made a cup of tea and sat down to read The Little Book of Hygge. Little did I realises that what I was doing was was very hyggeligt. Hygge hard to describe and this book does it perfectly. Hygge is the feeling you get when have been out all day hiking and you return home to homemade stew surrounded by friends and family. This book claims that hygge is more of an emotion than a thing in itself. It turns out that hygge is something that we have been practising in our household for years. Candles are forever burning and cosy throws and tea are in almost limitless supply. In fact as I write this I have candles on, a throw over me and a cat sitting on my lap. So if hygge a specifically danish thing? or is it present in every culture and the Danes have just found the perfect way to describe it? I haven’t yet quite decided but I think in Scotland we use a lot of the same techniques as the Dannish to get through the long cold winters.

This book shows all different kinds of hygge, all of which I would expect most people to be able to relate too. When I purchased this little book I was concerned that the book might be a marketing tool telling people that if you want to happy like the Dannish you need to buy this and that. I wasn’t really into that, but like I have said I liked the front cover and the pictures were pretty. This book is far from a marketing tool. In fact in order to make your house more hyggeligt you probably already own all of the things needed for a hygge night. This book is about slowing down an enjoying all of the small things in life. The book is easy to read and encompasses various diagrams and beautiful photos that encourages you to stop and look. I do not think it would be possible to rush your way through this stunning little book.

If I had one criticism of this book it would be that to me and I would image a lot of the people around me, hugge is very obvious. I am very fortunate in the sense that I live in a very homely home and often make a conscious effort to surround myself with the people that I love. I don’t really need coaching on how to do it. This book also repeats itself and states the obvious a lot of the time. It dose however encourage you to stop and think and I am all for  that.

All in all this is a lovely little book that will make you feel warm and cosy. It also makes a great gift. I gave a copy of this book to a close friend before I has even finished reading my copy. If you fancy giving this a little read defiantly buy the hard back copy of this book. The kindle version will not give the same experience.

I am plodding on with Shadow of the Wind and will hopefully have a review for you in the next couple of days.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

